The Fish River Canyon can be reached driving down south on B1, turning to B4 towards Luderitz, turning left on C12 and follow signs. The canyon, which is 161 kilometres long and up to 550 meters deep, forms part of the conservation area proclaimed a reserve in 1969.
The vegetation in the area has been classified as dwarf shrub savannah. The following trees occur: camel thorn, quiver tree (kokerboom), sweet thorn, buffalo thorn.
Ai-Ais: One of the most famous hot-spring resorts in the country. The name is a Khoekhoen word which can be translated as ''fire water''.
The area was discovered in 1850 by local Nama shepherd. During Nama uprising of 1903-07 the spring was used by German military forces as a base camp. They were also using this area in 1915 as a base to recover from wounds during invasion of South African troops.
Later the spring was leased to local entrepreneur and proclaimed a national monument in 1962. In 1969 it became a conservation area. The rest camp was opened in 1971 on 16 March. Severe floods in 1972, 1974 and 1988 caused camp to close down for some time.
The Fish River Canyon Conservation area was enlarged in 1987 by addition of state land west of canyon. Renovations to the Ai-Ais Camp were carried out in 1987-88 and again in 2009.
The main attraction of the park is Fish River Canyon Hike.
Due to extreme temperatures (up to 50 degrees in the summer!) open only during winter time.